Denton County offices will be closed on Monday, January 20th in observance of MLK Day
 
 

I WANT TO...

Denton County Criminal Misdemeanor

Scales of Justice

Notice - District Clerk Designated as Clerk to Magistrate Court Effective January 1, 2020

Effective January 1, 2020, per standing order, the District Clerks office has been designated as the assigned clerk to the Magistrate Court for Denton County. Documents on an unfiled charge must be filed and will be maintained through the Denton County District Clerk. Documents filed prior to January 1, 2020 will remain in the district or county clerk's offices they were originally filed in.

 


 

The office hours of the Denton County Misdemeanor Department are:

Monday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
   
Phone: (940) 349-2014
Fax: (940) 349-2015

Local Rules Adobe Acrobat PDF 

Online Payments

  • Fines paid after business hours will not be applied until the next business day.
  • Open capias pro fine warrants will not be recalled until all fines are paid.  Fines paid after business hours will not prompt a recall of the warrant until the next business day.
  • Juvenile payments made using a debit or credit card must be made in person and cannot be made online.
  • $1.00 minimum or 3% processing fee per transaction will be added to your total balance due when paying online.  (Ex. If 5 payments are made, $5 or 3% added to total balance)

Pay fine and courts costs for Criminal Misdemeanor Cases online. Once you find and view the details of your case, a "Make Payment" button will be available in the right top corner of the screen.

E-Filing Information

Forms

Petition for an Order of Nondisclosure: Texas Judicial Branch 
Download Nondisclosure Forms »

Copy Request

Please select a payment form below to submit request:

View a list of documents filed in a criminal case »

Background Search

Please select a payment form below to submit request:

Second Court of Appeals - Attorney Portal

Notice icon  Law Enforcement and Government Agencies Only: 

Please fax request for copies or background search information to (940) 349-2015 on your agency's official letterhead.

Self-Help Resources:

Helpful Tips

  • All criminal files pertaining to the County Criminal Courts filed prior to 1993 have now been destroyed. In criminal cases from 1993-1996, only judgments are available. This is in compliance with the Texas State Library and Archive Commission retention schedule.
  • You may come to our office in person for any copy request and background search information if you choose not to submit the above required forms by fax or mail.
  • Forms of payment accepted are cash, money order, cashier's checks, credit/debit cards, and business checks. We accept Discover, Master Card, and Visa. However, there is a 4% fee for credit card transactions and a $2.50 fee for debit card or check transactions.
  • Contact our office for additional information at (940) 349-2014.