Involuntary Mental Health Commitments
(940) 349-2729 (Office)
(940) 349-5194 (Fax)
The Mental Health Court, a division of the Statutory Probate Court, handles all involuntary commitments for residents of Denton County. All commitments done by this court are placed at The North Texas State Hospital, Wichita Falls Campus. Family members may pursue placement at a private facility, a bed letter from that facility must be submitted to the Court prior to any hearing.
If you are looking for emergency services for your loved one who may not be willing to seek treatment voluntarily, please contact 911 and request a Mental Health Evaluation or Denton County Mental Health and Mental Retardation (MHMR) at:
Psychiatric Triage at (940) 381-9965 Located at: 2509 Scripture Street, Suite 100, Denton, Texas 76201-2337. View Map to Psychiatric Triage »
If you are going to be taking your loved one to Psych Triage yourself, please look for Medical Building 5 as the signage is small and can be difficult to see. Or you can contact the Denton County MHMR Crisis Hotline at: 1 (800) 762-0157. Also, you may visit the Denton County MHMR website.
All applications must be submitted to the Denton County District Attorney's Office. The application process begins with the application packet. This packet consists of the Application for Mental Health Services, the Certificate of Medical Examination, The Civil Case Information Sheet, and if needed an Affidavit of Indigence. All forms submitted to the District Attorney’s Office must be legible. Therefore the links to these four forms are provided below in a PDF fillable format and must be typed. Should you have any questions about the forms or how to file, please contact Jessica Flemming.
The first portion of the packet is the Application for Mental Health Services. This must be filled out in as much detail as possible. The more information given, the more likely the Application will be approved. There are two pages that must be notarized.
The second portion of the packet is the Certificate of Medical Examination. This must be completed by a Physician no later than five days before the Application is submitted to the court. Without the Certificate of Medical Examination the Application will be denied.
The third portion of the packet is the Civil Case Information Sheet. This is required by law to be filed with all civil cases. The one provided is set up for Mental Health cases only.
The final part of the application packet is the Affidavit of Indigence. There is a $512.00 filing fee associated with all Mental Health cases. If the proposed patient is an adult and cannot afford the fees, this affidavit may be filled out, notarized and submitted to the court before a ruling is made on the Application. If granted, all fees are waived.
You may submit the completed Application for Mental Health Services and Certificate of Medical Examination to the District Attorney's Office via fax or email above. However, the originals must be submitted to the court no later than 72 hours after the Application is filed.
Affidavit of Indigence
Application For Mental Health Services
Certificate of Medical Examination for Mental Illness
Civil Case Information Sheet