Public Notice 

Effective at 4:00 P.M. March 18, 2020, the Denton County District Clerk’s Office will temporarily suspend all walk-in services. This includes all walk-in services provided by civil, family, criminal and jury departments.

This decision was not made lightly and is in the best interest of both the public we serve and the District Clerk’s Office employees.

We will maintain our normal business hours. Our hard working staff will continue working all mailed or electronically filed case documents, issuance requests for District Court cases, orders issued by the District Courts, and all mailed or emailed records requests.

General case information is available to the public at all times online at:

Read the full press release for more information.


Effective immediately, this office will no longer certify a copy of any document that did not originate from this office.

If you would like a certified copy of any record held on file by this office, you will need to complete a Record Request Form.

Record Request Forms can be submitted to this office by mail to P.O. Box 2146, Denton, Texas 76202, by fax to (940) 349-5754 or by email at

No record requests or research regarding record requests will be performed without a completed Record Request Form.

 Certified Copies are $1.00 per page. Payment can be made by cash, money order, or credit card (American Express, MasterCard, Visa and Discover).Credit card payments are subject to a 2.75% transaction fee of the total amount charged ($1.00 minimum transaction). Personal checks are not accepted.

Documents sealed by order or statute will not be provided unless permitted by law.


The Denton County District Clerk’s Office has been a proud supporter of electronic filing since 2012. E-filing is a fast, efficient and convenient way to file any lawsuit or any document. E-filing is available to all self-represented parties (commonly known as pro se), attorneys, mediators, court liaisons and more. E-filing guides and other helpful information are also available at

For more information, please go to our Electronic Filing and Service page.

Notice - District Clerk Designated as Clerk to Magistrate Court Effective January 1, 2020

Effective January 1, 2020, per standing order, the District Clerks office has been designated as the assigned clerk to the Magistrate Court for Denton County. Documents on an unfiled charge must be filed and will be maintained through the Denton County District Clerk. Documents filed prior to January 1, 2020 will remain in the district or county clerk's offices they were originally filed in.

District Clerk

The Honorable David Trantham
District Clerk

The District Clerk is elected for a four-year term and supports the district courts. The Clerk is registrar, recorder and custodian of all court pleadings, instruments and papers that are part of any cause of action in any civil or criminal district court.

Denton County Courts Building
1450 East McKinney Street 
1st Floor
Denton, TX 76209-4524
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Wednesday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 2146
Denton, TX 76202-2146

Request copies of documents Adobe Acrobat PDF from a case on file with this office. Record Request Forms can be submitted to this office in-person at 1450 E. McKinney Street, Denton, Texas, by mail to P.O. Box 2146, Denton, Texas 76202, by fax to (940) 349-5754 or by email at No record requests or research regarding record requests will be performed without a completed Record Request Form.

Denton County Standing Orders for Divorce/Family cases effective February 15, 2019 Adobe Acrobat PDF 


District Clerk Office
(940) 349-2200
(972) 434-8822

(940) 349-2200
(972) 434-8822
(940) 349-2201 (Fax)

Criminal (felony records)
(940) 349-2210
(972) 434-8839
(940) 349-2211 (Fax)

Child Support
(940) 349-2220
(972) 434-8840
(940) 349-2201 (Fax)

Jury Information Services

(940) 349-2230
(972) 434-8830
(940) 349-2231 (Fax)


How may I obtain a copy of a divorce decree or other documents from a case file?

You may download the Record Request Form Adobe Acrobat PDF  or the form is available in the District Clerks office. The form must be completed in its entirety including the cause no., the name of the parties involved, the date(s) of the document(s) and the name(s) of the document (s). If you do not know this information you can do a public record search at the site of Denton County Records Inquiry; all documents which have been filed are listed on the case and updated as soon as the document is entered on the case management system.

When will the Judge hear my case?

Most of the Judges are available to hear uncontested matters Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM until 9:00 AM; please keep in mind this is on a first come, first served basis. Some judges will hear uncontested matters at other times, if they are not in trial. If a hearing is required, you must contact the court coordinator for the court your case has been assigned and arrange a hearing date. Please make sure you provide the decree or judgment for the Judge to sign and bring at least two (2) additional copies.

View All FAQs