Meetings and Membership


The Denton County Historical Commission (DCHC) meets on the 3rd Thursday of each month, except for June, July, November, and December. The meetings are at 3:00 pm at the Bayless-Selby House, Denton County Historical Park at 317 W Mulberry Street in Denton, unless publically announced otherwise. DCHC meetings are open to the public, and prospective members are encouraged to attend at least one meeting prior to submitting an application for membership.


The Denton County Historical Commission consists of volunteer members appointed to two-year terms by the Denton County Commissioners Court. Members may be reappointed to an unlimited number of two-year terms. The DCHC is an arm of the Denton County government. Under the Texas Local Government Code, Chapter 318, the county commissioners court is required to appoint a county historical commission "for the purpose of initiating and conducting programs suggested by the commissioners court and the Texas Historical Commission for the preservation of the historical heritage of the county.

The Denton County Commissioners Court appoints a number of Boards and Committees which advise and assist in governing County programs. Members of those boards and committees are appointed primarily in January of odd-numbered years. A list of volunteers is maintained throughout the year and training sessions are held several times a year to provide an overview of available opportunities.

Members of the County Historical Commission should represent all precincts of Denton County, reflect the age range and ethnic diversity of the county, and demonstrate an active interest in historic preservation. This is an active county committee so individuals should be prepared to participate in research and activities in one of three areas: Cemeteries, Endangered Properties and Archeology, and Markers.