Traffic Offenses

Should I Take a Driving Safety Course
or
Request Deferred Disposition to Have My Traffic Ticket Dismissed?

DSC DEFERRED
ELIGIBILITY
  • Any moving violation (not for “paperwork offenses” such as inspection/registration or defective equipment)
  • Valid Texas Driver’s License
  • CDL Holders are not eligible
  • Valid Texas Auto Liability Insurance.
  • Must not be taking DSC for another offense
  • Must not have taken DSC in past year to dispose of another offense
  • Requires plea of “No Contest” or “Guilty”
  • Must request before appearance day or will require judge’s approval
  • Any Violation
  • CDL Holders are not eligible
  • Valid Texas Auto Liability Insurance
  • Requires Plea of “No Contest” or “Guilty”
  • Must have judge’s approval (May require court appearance for certain offenses) Court will consider:
    • Seriousness of violation
    • Accident/Injury
    • Other offenses at time of incident
    • Offender’s driving record
OFFENSES EXCLUDED
  • Offenses in construction zones when workers are present
  • Speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit
  • Passing a School Bus
  • Failure to Stop and Render Aid
  • Failure to Stop at Accident: Damage
  • Offenses in construction zones when workers are present.
  • Any offense according to Judge’s discretion.
LENGTH OF PROBATION 90 Days (Three months)
  • Typically 90 days (3 months)
  • Maximum 180 days (6 months)
  • COSTS UP FRONT

    $103.10 Court Costs +

    $9.90 Administrative Fee

    $113.00 Total

    Special Expense (Full fine amount) and Court Costs
    Call for amount
    EXTRA EXPENSES

    $12.00 to Department of Public Safety

    $25-$100 for certified driver safety course
    • Drivers who hold provisional licenses must pay $10 to Department of Public Safety for examination fee (Effective 9/1/2005)
    • Drivers under age 25 must pay $25-100 for driving safety course (Effective 9/1/2005)
    CONDITIONS OF PROBATION
    1. No moving violations during period of probation
    2. Obtain Driving Record from DPS
    3. Take driving safety course that is approved by Texas Education Agency (TEA) »
    4. Provide court with Driving Record and certificate of course completion before end of probation
    • No moving violations during period of probation
    • Return affidavit of compliance
    • Drivers under age 25 must complete a driving safety course approved under Chapter 1001, Education Code (Effective 9/1/2005)
    • Drivers who hold provisional licenses must be examined by the Department of Public Safety (Effective 9/1/2005)
    • Proof of course and examination completion must be provided to the court
    PENALTY FOR NON - COMPLIANCE
    1. Conviction
    2. Payment of Additional Fine
    3. Offense reported to DPS
    4. Potential warrant for arrest if fine remains unpaid
    1. Conviction
    2. Offense reported to DPS
                                                   

    Driving Safety Course Resources

    Texas Driver Responsibility Program

    The Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) establishes a system that authorizes the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to assess surcharges to an individual based on certain traffic offenses that have occurred on or after September 1, 2003. Individuals are notified by mail each time a surcharge is added to their driver record. Surcharges are in addition to other fees and do not replace a suspension, revocation, denial, disqualification or cancellation resulting from the same conviction.

    This program was developed to encourage safe driving habits. It requires DPS to assess surcharges to individuals based on certain traffic offenses. These surcharges are assessed in two ways, a point system, and conviction based.

    • Points are assessed for Texas or out-of-state moving violation convictions: two (2) points for a conviction, and three (3) points for a conviction that resulted in a crash. Individuals are assessed a point surcharge annually if they have six (6) or more points on their driver record. For each consecutive 12 month period that an individual does not receive any points for a moving violation, one (1) point will be deducted from the individual’s total points.
    • A Conviction based surcharge is a result of being convicted of any of the following; Driving While Intoxicated, No Driver License, Driving While License Invalid, and No Insurance. Points are not assessed for these offenses. A conviction based surcharge will be assessed annually for three (3) years from the date of conviction. An individual also has the option to pay all three (3) years at once.

    DPS offers programs that may reduce or waive surcharges. For more information about DRP, along with details on available surcharge discounts and other surcharge assistance programs, please visit the Texas Department of Public Safety DRP website »

    Texas Department of Public Safety Question and Answers on surcharges effective September 1, 2019