Criminal Traffic

Should I Take a Driving Safety Course

or

Request Deferred Disposition to Have My Traffic Ticket Dismissed? 

The following offense(s) may be dismissed with Driving Safety Course compliance or Deferred Disposition compliance. And, with payment of the proper fees/court costs to the Justice of the Peace, Precinct Three. Please contact our office at (972) 434-4750 before your appearance date regarding this process; we do not accept personal checks. 

DSC

DEFERRED

Eligibility

  • Any moving violation (not for “paperwork offense” such as inspection, registration or defective equipment)
  • Valid Texas Driver’s License
  • CDL Holders are not eligible
  • Valid Texas Auto Liability Insurance on vehicle cited
  • Must not be taking DSC for another offense
  • Must not have taken DSC in past year to dispose of another offense
  • Requires plea of “No Contest” or “Guilty”
  • Must request before appearance date or will require Judge’s approval

  • Most moving violations
  • CDL Holders are not eligible
  • Valid Texas Auto Liability Insurance of vehicle cited
  • Must not have been on Deferred Disposition in past year to dispose of another offense
  • Required plea of “No Contest” or “Guilty”
  • May require court appearance for certain offenses which requires Judge’s approval

Offenses
Excluded

  • Offenses in construction zones when workers are present
  • Speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit
  • Speeding 95 miles or more over the speed limit
  • Passing a School Bus
  • Failure to Stop and Render Aid
  • Failure to Stop at Accident - Damage

 

  • Offenses in construction zones when workers are present
  • Speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit
  • Speeding 95 miles or more over the speed limit
  • Passing a School Bus
  • Failure to Stop and Render Aid
  • Failure to Stop at Accident –Damage
  • Any offense according to Judge’s discretion

Length of Probation

  • 90 days (3 months)
  • Typically 90 days (3 months)
  • Maximum 180 days (6 months)

Costs up
Front

    $103.10 Court Costs +
    $     9.90 Administration Fee
    $113.00 Total

 

 

  • Special expense plus court costs; call for amount

Extra
Expenses

    $12 to Department of
    Public Safety 

    $25-$100 for certified
    driver safety course

 

                      

  • Drivers who hold
    provisional license must
    pay $10 to Department
    of Public Safety for examination
  • Drivers under age 25 must
    pay $25-$100 for driving
    safety course

 

Conditions
of Probation

  • Obtain driving record from DPS
  • Take a Texas Education Agency (TEA) approved driving safety course
  • Provide court with driving record and certificate of course completion before end of probation period
  • No moving violations during period of probation
  • Return affidavit of compliance
  • Drivers under age 25 must complete a driving safety course approved under Chapter 1001, Education Code
  • Drivers who hold a provisional license must be examined by the Department of Public Safety
  • Proof of course and examination completion must be provided to the court

 

Penalty for
Non-Compliance

  • Conviction
  • Payment of fine
  • Offense reported to DPS
  • Potential warrant for arrest if fine remains unpaid

 

  • Conviction
  • Offense reported to DPS


Can I Have my Ticket Dismissed?

The following offense(s) may be dismissed with proper proof and/or compliance and payment of the dismissal fee to the Justice of the Peace, Precinct Three.  Please contact our office at (972) 434-4750 before your appearance date regarding the dismissal process; we do not accept personal checks.

Dismissible Offenses

Dismissal Fee

Failure to maintain financial responsibility (no insurance on vehicle cited) 

No Fee

Operating a vehicle with an obscured, altered or dirty license plate

$10.00

No front license plate

$10.00

No attachment of registration insignia

$10.00

Expired registration (must include penalty paid to  tax assessor)

$20.00

Fail to display driver’s license

$10.00

Expired driver’s license

$20.00

Fail to change name/address on driver’s license

$20.00

Driver’s license restriction or endorsement removal

$10.00

Expired inspection (expired less than 60 days)

$20.00

Defective equipment: tail lamp, brake lamp, head lamp, window tint

(does not apply to commercial motor vehicle)

$10.00

Expired certificate of number on motorboat (expired less than 60 days)

$10.00


Point and Surcharge System
 

All moving violation convictions occurring after September 1, 2003 will result in the assessment of “points” on your driver’s license. These points accumulate and accrue fees (surcharges).

Conviction Type

Assigned Points

Texas moving violation

2

Out-of-state moving violation

2

Texas moving violation resulting in a crash

3

Out-of-state moving violation resulting in a crash

3

 

A surcharge is applied when a driver accumulates six (6) points or more. The driver must pay $100 for the first six (6) points and $25 for each additional point.  Every year, the surcharge will continue to be applied if the driver record has six (6) points or more.  Point surcharges may vary with each yearly review if convictions are added or removed from the driver record.

Some convictions are assessed automatic yearly surcharges with no points applied. The surcharges will be assessed for 3 years from the date of each conviction that is reported to DPS.

Conviction Type

Assigned
Surcharges

Driving without a license, no driver license or commercial driver license, expired license or endorsement violation

$100

Driving with invalid license: driver license is cancelled, suspended, denied or revoked

$250

Driving without insurance

$250

1st DWI

$1000

Subsequent DWI

$1500

 

The best way to avoid “points” is to avoid conviction

The best way to avoid convictions is to obey the traffic laws

The 2nd best way to avoid conviction is to be found “not guilty” at trial

If you have committed an offense, and know you will have to pay a fine, there are two other ways to avoid conviction. Either complete a “Driving Safety Course” (DSC) or be granted “Deferred Disposition.”